Old bat, new wings!

I just finished reading a comic for my American Literature class named Batman: The Dark Knight Returns. It had one of DC Universe’s famed superhero named Batman. The Batman in this comic didn’t rely on his youth to solve problems, instead he relied on his mind and experience. I saw Batman as an outlaw and anit-hero.

I grow up reading comic books and watching cartoon, so this reading assignment was right up my ally. Batman has always been the type of hero to accomplish his goals by using his own methods. The methods that he use are not the typical methods of a traditional hero. Batman broke a young man’s leg and said, “He’s young. He’ll probably walk again. But he’ll stay scared- won’t you punk?” Actions like that make me see batman as a outlaw and anti-hero. A traditional hero wouldn’t be a millionaire fighting crime like Batman is. It’s obvious that he’s not your typical goody two shoes hero. He’s a crime fighter.

It was exciting to see Batman coming out of retirement to handle crime and put Harvey aka Two Face in his place. Some methods Batman use may not be accepted by society, but somebody has to do it. Thank God for the old bat with new wings..Batman.


3 responses to “Old bat, new wings!

  • mallorywaldrop

    Rico, I liked your title!! 🙂 I completely agree, I feel as though Batman is an anti-hero as well. He always seems to save people but he never seems to have the traditional heroic qualities. I agree with you.

  • ricoburnett

    Thanks 🙂 ..I’m glad that you agree with my opinion. I think Batman had to develope his personality based off the limitations of his mortality. Superman can afford to be soft on everybody, because he cannot be harmed. Batman has to be more aggressive, because he can be killed and he has a image to up hold. That’s another reason why I think he has to be a anti-hero and a outlaw.

  • tsmith16

    I also agree with your post about Batman being an anti-hero. Batman is seen as a myth to some people, but in the eyes of the people that have seen him they feel he is a hero. Batman doesn’t portray the qualities of a true hero due to his tactics of solving crime, but at the end he always saves the day and protects Gotham City.

Leave a comment